Works In Progress

Current projects

Hey everyone! I decided to write a post to let everyone know some of the current projects I’m working on. I’m currently participating in 3 sew alongs on instagram, one of which I just caught back up with so I haven’t posted about it on my instagram feed (you can follow me @crunkaree).


 

The first one I started, and had to catch back up with, is the Sew Sampler block of the month (through the Fat Quarter Shop, they do a lot of sew alongs). I currently have 10 blocks finished and I believe there are 2 left to complete the quilt top.

img_0475
As you can see I don’t have enough room in my sewing room floor to have everything laid out like I want it to be, so I taped up my blocks with painters tape. (Brilliant!) These blocks are each 16″ squares, and I was going for a scrappy look to this quilt and I think it’s going good!


 

Another sew along I’m participating in is the Swoon along. The Swoon quilt I’m completing is the original (the amazing Camille Roskelley has 3 different versions) because the blocks are massive, and it only needs 9 blocks to complete the top. This quilt will end up being an 80″ square, pretty big! Right now I only have 3 blocks done, but I’m planning on doing 3 block sets so that they have a different look to them.

As you can see the main fabric that will debut in each block is Scooby Doo! I LOVE IT! In these 3 blocks I only used 2 different fabrics to contrast each other, but in the next 3 I plan to use 3 fabrics, and only have the center star be Scooby Doo.


 

The third sew along I’m in is a weekly block sew along called the Sewcial Bee Sampler. (Hosted by Sharon Holland and Maureen Cracknell). Each of these blocks are rather small, but there will be 25 of them to make a good sized quilt in the end.


I decided to use my pink and purple stash/scraps to start this quilt out, and I’m loving how my blocks are looking so far! I believe this sew along will end sometime in August, so I have a while before this one will be done.

I’ve really enjoyed being a part the online quilting community I’ve found through these sew alongs! I’ve made lots of online friends and I love seeing how so many people can sew the same block but they turn out so different! Quilting is a beautiful art form that I thought was a “lost art,” but it’s truly alive and thriving, and I’m so glad I have become a part of it!

Thank you so much for the love and support, and for reading this long post!

– Karee

Leave a Reply

